Sunset at Woy Woy

State Rail is trialling ‘Quiet Carriages’.  Bet this commuter wishes he sat in that carriage:

Harsh mistress according to Peter Fitzsimons

This, I’m afraid, is one of those stories I don’t wish to inquire about too  closely, for fear it may not be true. On Tuesday evening I was told of  a fellow who got on the train at Central that afternoon, heading south on the  Sutherland line. To the distraction and frustration of the carriage, he hauls  out his mobile and starts a very loud conversation, beginning: ”Hi darling,  it’s Peter, I’m on the train – yes, I know it’s the 6.30 not the 5 o’clock but I  had a long meeting – no, not with that floozy from accounts, with the boss. No  darling, you’re the only one in my life – yes, I’m sure, cross my heart.”

This is still going on at Como when the young woman opposite, driven beyond  endurance, yells at the top of her voice: ”Hey, Peter, turn that bloody phone  off and come back to bed!”

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/society-and-culture/treasured-clive-i-dont-buy-it-20120310-1uqy0.html#ixzz1oncrD66i

Leave a Reply

